Skip to content

LTI User Sync

How are Users Synced Between Canvas and the Cyber Range?

After establishing an integration between the Cyber Range and Canvas, any existing students and TAs will be removed from your Cyber Range course and replaced with your Canvas users. Any new users can be added directly to Canvas which will be synced with the Cyber Range daily. Additionally, instructors have the ability to manually run a sync at any time.

User Mapping

When Users are imported from Canvas they will be assigned the corresponding roles in the Cyber Range. Displayed below is a mapping of user roles from Canvas to the Cyber Range:

Canvas Role Cyber Range Role
Teacher Instructor
Student Student
TA TA
Designer No Access
Observer No Access

This table includes all of the official user types provided in Canvas. Please reach out to your Canvas administrator if you have any questions about other custom roles.

Managing User Sync

Note

The screenshots in this section are based on a Canvas integration using the "Public" Privacy Level. If your organization chooses to use a the "Private" Privacy Level, users will still be synced, but they will be displayed as "Anonymous LTI User."

From the Cyber Range interface, course instructors have multiple tools to help them manage and review user synchronization. We will discuss those tools below.

Viewing Sync Results

To view the result of previous user Sync events, you can do the following:

  1. Navigate to any course with an active LTI integration.
  2. Click on the "Manage Course Users" button to navigate to the Users page. "Manage Course Users" is between "Add Exercise Environment" and "Manage Course Application" in navigation
  3. Click on the "Manage User Sync" button to navigate to the Sync page. The Sync page displays information regarding which users were added, removed, or updated by all Sync events. "Manage User Sync" is after "Add a new team to this course" in navigation
  4. To get a closer look at a specific Sync event, click the gear icon in the first column of the Sync event that you would like to review. The gear icon for each sync is in the Actions column
  5. Select View to display the Sync Result dialog. The Sync dialog includes a Timestamp, Duration, Status and Message if applicable

Manually Starting a User Sync

Note

LTI users are automatically synced daily. Manual sync is only required if your users need to be synced immediately.

If you make changes to your student roster in Canvas and want to update the user records in the Cyber Range immediately, please follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to any course with an active LTI integration. "Manage Course Users" is between "Add Exercise Environment" and "Manage Course Application" in navigation
  2. Click on the "Manage User Sync" button to navigate to the Sync page. "Manage User Sync" is after "Add a new team to this course" in navigation
  3. Click the “Sync Now” button denoted by a play button icon. "Sync Now" is after "Filter sync history" in navigation

Have a Question? Contact Support

We're here to help you. If you still have questions after reviewing the information above, please feel free to submit a ticket with our support team and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.